Specifications
| Model / part number | UV150GKP |
|---|---|
| Collection | bagged |
| Filtration | Multi-layer (five-layer) 7 gallon HEPA-style filter bag with two openings (HPB2HD) so the unit can collect from the on-board utility inlet and from remote piped inlets at the same time |
| Motors | 1 |
| Air watts | Not yet verified |
| Water lift | Not yet verified |
| Airflow | Not yet verified |
| Manufacturer sq ft rating | Not yet verified |
| Noise (manufacturer rating) | 58 dB |
| Motor | 6.6 in tangential bypass, 1500 hour motor life, 120 V |
| Amps | 12.7 A |
| Power | plug-in 120V |
| Exhaust outside | optional |
| Pipe size | 2 in Schedule 40 |
| Mount | Wall mount bracket; plug into 120 V outlet |
| Dimensions | 17 x 17 x 29 |
| Weight | 28 lb |
| Warranty | Not yet verified |
Bars place each figure against the 7 garage and utility units we track, from the lowest published value to the highest, with the median marked. A bar is drawn only where at least three units publish the figure. Green sits on the better side of the median, amber on the weaker side; amps and weight have no better side.
"Not yet verified" means the manufacturer has not published the figure or we could not confirm it. We never fill a gap with a guess and we do not invent measurements: every figure is the maker's own or a specialty dealer's, and the source is named.
The short version
What we like
- ✓6.6 in tangential bypass motor with a published 1,500-hour life, 12.7 A
- ✓58 dB with vented exhaust, the only quiet rating among the garage units we cover
- ✓Two-opening 7 gal HEPA-style bag feeds the on-board utility inlet and remote piped inlets at once
- ✓+1 and +3 utility valve kit variants (UV150GKP1, UV150GKP3) for inlets at the bench or the far bay
- ✓Full 50 ft garage kit: crush-proof hose, chrome wands, floor brush, three tools, hanger and caddy
What we'd change
- ✕No air watts, water lift or CFM published
- ✕No warranty term stated on the product page; which VacuMaid schedule applies is unclear
- ✕Remote inlets need 2 in schedule 40 PVC, fittings and low-voltage wire you buy separately
Who this unit is for
The VacuMaid UV150GKP is a wall-mounted utility vacuum sold with a 50 ft garage kit. It is not a whole-house central vacuum, and VacuMaid does not rate it for one. What sets it apart from the Garage Vac line is that it can be piped: the hose plugs into an inlet on the unit, and the +1 and +3 variants add one or three remote utility valves on 2 in pipe, so a second bay or a workbench gets its own inlet. Lindsay Manufacturing builds it in Ponca City, Oklahoma.
It is for a home shop or busy garage, and VacuMaid also pitches it as a commercial vacuum with remote work stations. The peers are VacuMaid’s own Garage Vac PRO (hose at the unit only, more published suction), the UV150CKP (the same unit with a car-care kit) and, for a piped compact unit, the InterVac IVD660H.
What the specs tell you
VacuMaid lists a 6.6 in tangential bypass motor with a 1,500-hour rated life, drawing 12.7 A at 120 V. A bypass motor cools itself with air drawn separately from the dirt stream, which is why it tolerates long daily use and carries a life rating three times the Garage Vac PRO’s. That rating is the headline spec here.
What VacuMaid does not publish is as important: no air watts, no water lift, no CFM. We cannot tell you how it compares at the tool to the Garage Vac PRO’s 740 air watts, and you should not trust a number from a retailer. A 6.6 in bypass motor at 12.7 A is in the range of full-size central vacuum motors, which is all the sizing you can infer.
Noise is 58 dB with vented exhaust. That ties the quietest full-size units in our records and is the only noise figure among the garage units we cover; the InterVac GH-120 and Prolux PLCGV are rated 72 dB. Weight is 28 lb and the unit is 17 by 17 by 29 in.
Collection is a five-layer 7 gal (27 qt) HEPA-style bag with two openings, part HPB2HD, so dirt from the on-board inlet and from remote inlets lands in the same bag. No certified HEPA rating is claimed. It is a sealed-bag unit; the Prolux is the only bagless garage unit in the group.
Fit and compatibility
As shipped, the 50 ft crush-proof hose plugs into the utility inlet on the unit and nothing is piped. Choose the UV150GKP1 or UV150GKP3 and you get one or three plastic utility valves with 2 in schedule 40 reducers and street elbows. VacuMaid specifies 2 in schedule 40 PVC for the runs, which is thicker-walled than the 2-inch thin-wall pipe used in whole-house systems; the reducers in the kit bridge the two. Pipe, fittings and low-voltage wire are not included. Low-voltage wiring is safe for a careful DIYer.
Mount the wall bracket on a stud and plug into a 120 V outlet; at 12.7 A it wants a circuit mostly to itself. Exhaust outside is optional, but the 58 dB figure assumes you vent it, and VacuMaid offers a muffler kit as an option.
What’s in the box, and what you still need
In the box: the utility vac power unit with on-board utility inlet, a 50 ft crush-proof hose, hose hanger, caddy bag, 12 in floor brush, dusting brush, crevice tool, upholstery tool, chrome telescopic wand, chrome curved wand with swivel cuff, and one HPB2HD bag.
Not included: utility valve kits unless you pick the +1 or +3 variant; 2 in schedule 40 PVC, fittings and low-voltage wire for remote inlets; the optional muffler kit; spare bags.
Warranty and support
The product page states no warranty term, and that is the biggest gap in the record. VacuMaid’s manufacturer warranty page gives lifetime limited coverage on the canister, 10 years on the motor and internal electrical, and 2 years on hoses and tool-kit tools, for single-family residential use; commercial, industrial and other applications get 90 days on all components. VacuMaid’s separate Garage Vac warranty, 5 years, names only the Garage Vac. Which schedule covers the Utility Vac is not stated. Confirm with Lindsay Manufacturing at 580-762-2457 before you buy, and get it in writing if you will use the unit in a business, where the 90-day term is the one to expect.
VacuMaid’s warranty pages do not mention Amazon or other marketplaces. Lindsay sells at least one VacuMaid unit on Amazon directly; check the seller name.
Living with it
Bag changes at 7 gal are infrequent even with daily use, and the two-opening bag means you do not manage separate collection for the remote inlets. If you add remote valves, a lost suction complaint is usually a clog at an elbow or an inlet door not seating; the on-board inlet gives you a quick way to check the unit itself.
At 58 dB vented, this is the one garage unit in the group you could mount on a wall shared with living space without much regret. Keep it dry; it is a bagged unit with no wet pick-up option listed.
What we’d verify before buying
- Warranty term: not stated on the product page; confirm with Lindsay which schedule applies.
- Air watts, water lift and CFM: not published.
- Motor stages: not stated.
- Whether your seller is Lindsay or a third party, since marketplace coverage is not addressed.
- For the +1 and +3 kits, the pipe and wire bill of materials for your runs.
What's in the box, and what you still need
Included
- ✓utility vac power unit with on-board utility inlet
- ✓50 ft crush-proof hose
- ✓hose hanger
- ✓caddy bag
- ✓12 in floor brush
- ✓dusting brush
- ✓crevice tool
- ✓upholstery tool
- ✓chrome telescopic wand
- ✓chrome curved wand with swivel cuff
- ✓five-layer 7 gal two-opening HEPA-style bag (HPB2HD)
Buy separately
- +utility valve (inlet) kits unless the +1 / +3 variant is chosen
- +2 in schedule 40 PVC pipe, fittings and low-voltage wire for remote inlets
- +muffler kit (optional)
Most power units ship without a hose or powerhead. Our attachments guide explains which hose fits your inlets.
Complete the system
A power unit alone does not clean a floor. These are the pieces most buyers add to the box, matched to this unit from the makers' own fit lists.
- The unit
Low-voltage inlets on 2-inch pipe.
- Hose and tool kit✓ Maker lists this brand
Cen-Tec 93048 kit with switch-control 40 ft hose, black
Cen-Tec Systems
Cen-Tec Systems lists VacuMaid systems as compatible; hose end matches low-voltage inlets.
- 3. Bags or filter
No bag or filter in our catalog is listed for this model yet. Match the number printed on your old bag or filter in bags or filters.
Frequently asked questions
Is the VacuMaid UV150GKP a central vacuum?
No. It is a wall-mounted utility vacuum for a garage or shop. The hose plugs into an inlet on the unit, and the +1 and +3 variants add one or three remote utility valves over 2 in pipe. It is not sized or sold for a house.
What is the difference between UV150GKP, UV150GKP1 and UV150GKP3?
The same unit and garage kit with no utility valve kit, a 1-valve kit, or a 3-valve kit. The kits include plastic utility valves, 2 in schedule 40 reducers and street elbows; PVC and low-voltage wire are not included.
How much suction does it have?
VacuMaid does not publish air watts, water lift or CFM for this unit. It lists a 6.6 in tangential bypass motor at 12.7 A.
How loud is it?
58 dB with vented exhaust, per VacuMaid.
What bag does it use?
A five-layer 7 gal (27 qt) HEPA-style bag with two openings, part HPB2HD, so it can collect from the on-board inlet and remote inlets at the same time.
What is the warranty?
The product page states no term. VacuMaid's manufacturer warranty page gives lifetime limited on the canister, 10 years on the motor and 2 years on hoses and tools for residential use, with 90 days for commercial use; its Garage Vac warranty names only the Garage Vac. Confirm which applies with Lindsay Manufacturing.
Why does VacuMaid's site call it UV100?
The maker now titles the page UV100 Extended Life Professional Wall Mounted Utility Vacuum with 50 ft Garage Kit; the bare unit is SKU UV100 and the kit variants are still UV150GKP, UV150GKP1 and UV150GKP3.