Specifications
| Collection | bagged |
|---|---|
| Filtration | Disposable 3-layer filtration bag FD-12.5L only; mandatory permanent protective filter FILPCDO-VAC (rinse only); side air intake pipe |
| Motors | 1 |
| Air watts | 630 |
| Water lift | 122 in |
| Airflow | Not yet verified |
| Manufacturer sq ft rating | 5,000 sq ft |
| Noise (manufacturer rating) | 60 dB |
| Motor | 1-stage Thru-flow, 5.7 in (145 mm), soft-start/stop |
| Amps | Not yet verified |
| Power | plug-in 120V |
| Exhaust outside | recommended |
| Pipe size | 2in |
| Mount | Wall bracket |
| Dimensions | 11.73 D x 19.49 H x 11.42 W (298 x 495 x 290 mm) |
| Weight | Not yet verified |
| Warranty | 10 years (motor 10) |
"Not yet verified" means the manufacturer has not published the figure or we could not confirm it. We never fill a gap with a guess; our own measurements are added once a unit has been tested hands-on.
The short version
What we like
- ✓Specs confirmed on OVO's spec sheet and manual
- ✓19.49 in tall, the shortest OVO unit we cover
- ✓60 dB rating; bag-only design keeps emptying clean
- ✓10-year parts warranty; plug-in 120V
What we'd change
- ✕Bag only; no bagless option
- ✕18 L canister with a 12.5 L bag means frequent changes in a busy home
- ✕Weight and CFM are not published
Who this unit is for
The OVO 630ST-18B is for condo and small-home owners who need a central vacuum that fits in a utility closet or laundry cabinet. At 19.49 in tall it is roughly 6 in shorter than OVO’s 25 L units and 11 in shorter than the 35 L units, while keeping a 630 air watt rating that OVO puts at about 5,000 sq ft and 5 inlets.
It is bag-only, which suits people who want a clean, sealed change and do not mind buying bags. It is not for anyone who wants the bagless option or who runs a large home.
What the specs tell you
OVO’s spec sheet lists 630 air watts and 122 in of water lift from a single-stage, 5.7 in thru-flow motor with soft start and stop. Air watts predicts carpet cleaning at the tool; water lift is sealed suction that keeps the system pulling through pipe runs and climbs. These figures match the 630ST-25H exactly, so performance should be the same; only the canister and height differ. 122 in is fine for a compact 5-inlet layout and less ideal for a long, tall run.
The 60 dB rating is the lowest of the OVO units we cover, which is welcome in a condo where the unit may share a wall with a living room.
Collection is bagged only: a 3-layer FD-12.5L (3.2 gal) disposable bag inside an 18 L top-load canister, behind a mandatory FILPCDO-VAC permanent protective filter that OVO says is rinse-only. The trade-off is straightforward. Bag changes are clean and the motor stays protected, but the 12.5 L bag will fill faster in a busy household, and there is no bagless fallback. OVO’s sheet also notes a side air intake pipe, which affects where your pipe enters the unit.
Not published: CFM and weight.
Fit and compatibility
Standard 2-inch pipe. OVO lists both low-voltage and direct-connect electric inlet systems. Power is plug-in 120V with an attached grounded cord. Not hardwired.
Exhaust outside is recommended, not required, which matters in a condo where an outside vent may not be possible; if you vent inside, OVO’s filter and bag do the filtering, and a muffler would help with noise. The unit mounts on OVO’s MUSUP-SD-V1 bracket, packed inside the canister. Dimensions are 11.73 in deep by 19.49 in high by 11.42 in wide. The air intake is on the side, so check pipe routing against the manual.
What’s in the box, and what you still need
In the box: the power unit, MUSUP-SD-V1 wall bracket (inside the canister), a disposable filtration bag, the FILPCDO-VAC permanent protective filter and the attached grounded power cord.
Not included: hose and attachments, PVC pipe, fittings and inlets. The record does not list a low-voltage wire socket for this model, unlike OVO’s larger units, so check the manual for how the 24V wires connect. Add an exhaust cap if venting out.
Warranty and support
OVO: 10 years on parts, 1 year labor, optional paid 25-year extension. The permanent protective filter must be replaced every 2 years to maintain the warranty. Original owner only, non-transferable, residential use. Proof of purchase is mandatory and OVO’s warranty page also asks for an installation invoice from a qualified installer. Unauthorized repairs void coverage.
OVO’s documents do not mention marketplaces, so coverage on a marketplace purchase is unstated. Registration is offered but not required. OVO (Nadair, Laval, Quebec) states that no parts or repair service is available in Quebec after sale.
Living with it
Bags are FD-12.5L. Change them at least twice a year per OVO’s warranty, and more often in practice given the small canister. The FILPCDO-VAC protective filter is rinse-only and must be replaced every 2 years. Top-load means the bag comes out from above, so leave clearance above the unit inside a cabinet.
At 60 dB it is as quiet as any unit we have figures for, but a closet door and a muffler on the exhaust will matter more in a condo than the rating itself.
What we’d verify before buying
- Unit weight: not published.
- CFM: not published.
- HEPA rating: not stated.
- Color: black is an Amazon listing attribute; OVO’s sheet does not state it.
- Whether a low-voltage wire socket is included; the record does not list one.
- Marketplace warranty coverage: not addressed by OVO.
What's in the box, and what you still need
Included
- ✓ wall mounting bracket MUSUP-SD-V1 (packed inside canister)
- ✓ disposable filtration bag
- ✓ permanent protective filter FILPCDO-VAC
- ✓ attached grounded power cord
Buy separately
- + hose and attachments
- + PVC pipe, fittings, inlets
Most power units ship without a hose or powerhead. Our attachments guide explains which hose fits your inlets.
Frequently asked questions
Can the OVO 630ST-18B run without a bag?
No. It is a disposable-bag-only unit using the FD-12.5L bag, with a permanent protective filter (FILPCDO-VAC) that stays in place.
How big is it?
11.73 in deep, 19.49 in high and 11.42 in wide, with a top-load canister.
What is it rated for?
OVO rates it at 630 air watts, 122 in water lift, about 5,000 sq ft and 5 inlets.
How loud is it?
60 dB per OVO.
Is the black color standard?
Black is how the Amazon listing describes it. OVO's spec sheet does not state a color, so confirm with the seller.
What about the 550ST-18B?
OVO's sibling on the same chassis is rated 550 air watts, 120 in, 62 dB and about 4,000 sq ft. Make sure your listing is the 630.