Skip to content
CentralVacuums.co

Beam · Review

Beam 475 Hybrid Gore Review

Beam's 475 hybrid unit with a self-cleaning GORE filter: 659 air watts, 144.9 in water lift, 10,000 sq ft, 10-year parts warranty under new owner Trovac.

CentralVacuums.co is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we make money →

Will it work in your home?

  • Standard 2-inch central vac pipe

    Fits the pipe already in most homes.

  • Low-voltage inlets

    Standard 24V low-voltage inlet wiring applies.

  • Direct-connect electric inlets

    Beam lists low-voltage and direct-connect electric inlet compatibility. 120V direct-connect wiring needs a licensed electrician.

  • Plugs into a standard outlet

    plug-in 120V

  • No exterior exhaust vent needed

    Works without, but venting outside is recommended for fine dust.

  • Hose and powerhead included

    Unit only. See "What you still need" below.

  • Size and weight

    14.1 dia x 40.1 H · 31.1 lb

Not sure what inlets you have? Identify your inlet type in 30 seconds →

Specifications

Specifications for Beam Central Vacuum 475 – Hybrid Gore – 659 AW
Collection hybrid
Filtration Hybrid Gore — self-cleaning permanent GORE filter, bag or bagless
Motors 1
Air watts 659
Water lift 144.9 in
Airflow 135.8 CFM
Manufacturer sq ft rating 10,000 sq ft
Noise (manufacturer rating) Not yet verified
Motor 2-stage '2 turbines / 1 motor / 6.6' (one 6.6 in motor with two fan stages)
Amps 14.1 A
Power plug-in 120V
Exhaust outside recommended
Pipe size 2in
Mount Wall bracket
Dimensions 14.1 dia x 40.1 H
Weight 31.1 lb
Warranty 10 years (motor 10)

"Not yet verified" means the manufacturer has not published the figure or we could not confirm it. We never fill a gap with a guess; our own measurements are added once a unit has been tested hands-on.

The short version

What we like

  • ✓659 air watts, 144.9 in water lift and 135.8 CFM, published by Beam
  • ✓Hybrid Gore: permanent self-cleaning GORE filter, bag or bagless
  • ✓10-year or 750-hour parts warranty, 1-year labor
  • ✓Plugs into a standard 120V outlet

What we'd change

  • ✕Noise rating not published (page says coming soon)
  • ✕Amazon's 4,500 sq ft figure conflicts with Beam's 10,000 sq ft
  • ✕Beam is dealer-only; the Amazon listing is a third-party dealer
  • ✕Canister capacity unit not stated

Who this unit is for

The Beam 475 is for a homeowner who wants hybrid collection behind a permanent, self-cleaning filter, strong published suction and a dealer network to lean on. Beam rates it for about 10,000 sq ft. It fits replacement and new-install jobs on standard 2-inch pipe.

Beam is a dealer-only brand, now owned by Trovac Industries, and the listing we track is sold by a third-party dealer. That is fine, but it shapes how you handle warranty service, so read that section.

What the specs tell you

Beam lists 659 air watts, 144.9 in of water lift and 135.8 CFM at 14.1 A from what it describes as 2 turbines, 1 motor, 6.6 in; the record reads that as a single 6.6 in motor with two fan stages. Air watts predicts carpet cleaning at the tool; 659 is solid mid-pack. Water lift is sealed suction for long runs and climbs; 144.9 in is near the top of our records and supports the 10,000 sq ft rating. CFM is airflow; 135.8 is good.

Noise is not published; Beam’s page says the dBA figure is coming soon. For a unit you may mount near a finished basement, that is a real gap.

Collection is Beam’s Hybrid Gore: a permanent self-cleaning GORE filter with the choice to run a bag or go bagless. The permanent filter means you are not buying filters, and bag-or-bagless lets you choose between clean changes and no consumables. Canister capacity is listed as 5.5 with no unit; the record assumes gallons.

Weight is 31.1 lb, the heaviest unit with a published weight in our records. The Amazon listing says 29 lb and 4,500 sq ft, both of which differ from Beam.

Fit and compatibility

Standard 2-inch pipe, wall bracket mount. Beam lists low-voltage and direct-connect electric inlet compatibility. Plug-in 120V at 14.1 A; not hardwired.

Exhaust outside is recommended. Dimensions are 14.1 in diameter by 40.1 in high, so plan for just over 40 in of wall plus clearance below.

What’s in the box, and what you still need

The record lists nothing specific as included. Not included: hose and attachments, pipe, fittings and inlets. Confirm with the dealer whether a bracket and a starter bag ship with it. Add an exhaust cap and, without a noise figure, consider a muffler.

Warranty and support

Beam’s product page and the domestic table on its warranty page give 10 years or 750 hours on parts and 1 year on labor. A second table on the same page, with no category label, lists 7 years or 750 hours for the 475. Conditions from the 2026 manual: proof of purchase (original invoice) is required; all warranty repairs must be done by an authorized Beam service center using Beam or Trovac parts or coverage may be void; installation not meeting Beam’s norms can invalidate it; non-transferable; the dealer may charge for in-home service.

Beam has no online store and sells through dealers and its BEAM Certified Pro locator. The Amazon listing is from Twin City Vacuum, a third-party dealer, not Beam. No marketplace clause was found in Beam’s terms.

Living with it

The GORE filter is permanent and self-cleaning per Beam, so routine care is emptying the canister (bagless) or changing bags (bagged). The record names no bag part number or change interval; get both from the dealer. Any repair under warranty goes through an authorized Beam service center, so find your nearest one before you need it.

With no noise figure, mount it in a garage or utility space and vent it outside until you have heard it run.

What we’d verify before buying

  • Noise (dB): not published.
  • Coverage: Beam says 10,000 sq ft; the Amazon listing says 4,500.
  • Weight: Beam 31.1 lb versus Amazon 29 lb.
  • Canister capacity unit: not stated.
  • Warranty term: 10 years in one table, 7 years in another.
  • Manufacture date relative to September 2024.
  • Bag part number and what ships in the box.

What's in the box, and what you still need

Included

    Buy separately

    • + hose and attachments
    • + pipe, fittings, inlets

    Most power units ship without a hose or powerhead. Our attachments guide explains which hose fits your inlets.

    Frequently asked questions

    Who makes Beam now?

    Trovac Industries of Quebec acquired Beam in June 2024. Beam was previously owned by Electrolux and then Nuera.

    What is Hybrid Gore?

    Beam's name for a self-cleaning permanent GORE filter in a unit that can run with a bag or bagless.

    What is the 475 rated for?

    Beam says approximately 10,000 sq ft. The Amazon listing says 4,500 sq ft. We use Beam's figure.

    How loud is it?

    Not published. Beam's page shows the sound level as coming soon.

    What is the warranty?

    10 years or 750 hours on parts and 1 year on labor per Beam's product and warranty pages, though a second, unlabeled table lists 7 years for the 475. Only units made by Trovac as of September 2024 are covered.

    Can I buy it from Beam directly?

    No. Beam sells through dealers and has no online store. The Amazon listing is from a third-party dealer, Twin City Vacuum.

    Should you buy the Beam Central Vacuum 475 – Hybrid Gore – 659 AW?

    Buy it if…

    • →You want a permanent filter with hybrid flexibility and a long parts warranty
    • →You have, or want, a Beam dealer for installation and service
    • →Your home is up to 10,000 sq ft

    Pick something else if…

    • →You need a published noise figure before placing the unit
    • →You want to buy direct from the manufacturer online; Beam sells through dealers
    • →You are not sure the unit was built after September 2024, which Beam's warranty requires
    Check price on Amazon(affiliate links)

    Alternatives worth a look

    Power unit

    OVO 700 Airwatts Heavy Duty Hybrid Central Vacuum, 35 L / 9.25 gal bottom-load canister

    OVO

    • 700 air watts
    • hybrid
    • up to 8,000 sq ft
    • 2-stage motor
    Power unit

    NuTone PurePower PP7001 Residential Central Vacuum Power Unit, 700 air watts

    NuTone

    • 700 air watts
    • hybrid
    • up to 10,000 sq ft
    • 1-stage motor
    Power unit

    Prolux CV12000 Central Vacuum Power Unit, 2-speed 2-stage insulated bypass motor

    Prolux

    • hybrid
    • up to 8,000 sq ft
    • 2-stage motor

    Written by Editorial team, Editor · Reviewed by Technical reviewer, Central vacuum installer

    Published October 17, 2026 · Updated October 17, 2026

    How we work →

    Beam Central Vacuum 475 – Hybrid Gore – 659 AW

    Our score 9.4/10